Spring Break

We did it, Boston.

Spring has sprung.

Or so they claim.

I didn’t feel so springy as I trudged through the heavy, wet, falling snow the first Monday after the Vernal Equinox. And I still don’t feel so springy as the wind continues to bite, the trees remain skeletal, and the 10 day forecast contains at least one instance of snow.

I know, I know, I shouldn’t complain. After all, this winter was outrageously mild. Terrifyingly mild after last winter. But Spring just felt so darned close a few weeks ago with daffodils and crocuses and tree buds heralding the warmth to come.

How wrong they were.

Winter continues to dig its sharp talons in, holding tight to our overcoats and our wool hats and our dreams, perpetuating the state of pasty white and sickly pallor that descends over the city every year.

Or maybe I am just grumpy from this cold that has made a wandering tour from my throat to my sinuses and has now settled into my chest, enveloping my brain in a heavy, listless fog.

Germany deserves more than that.

So, today’s blog will be a rerun of sorts. A look back on earlier posts. If the TV show producers get to take breaks for all of the holidays plus the entire summer, I think a week of blowing my brains out my nose merits a little recess. Right?

So, without further ado or complaining about the weather and being sick, lets take a look back at where we have been. Sometimes a repeat blog can say more than all the words that might tumble through my Nyquil-drugged fingertips.

Looking back at a post in early December, commemorating the arrival of my new passport, we first reviewed the list of everywhere we would be traveling. Let’s take a little looksie.

  1. South Africa
  2. Namibia
  3. Botswana
  4. Zambia
  5. Tanzania
  6. Kenya
  7. A BONUS NEW COUNTRY (I obviously got my passport replaced for a reason….)
  8. Seychelles
  9. Thailand
  10. Cambodia
  11. Vietnam
  12. Bali
  13. England
  14. Germany
  15. Switzerland
  16. Italy
  17. France
  18. Honduras
  19. Wales
  20. Ireland

We also took breaks to explore travel related ideas, including:

  1. Women of the World, in honor of International Women’s Day
  2. Reading on the Road

Assuming the wicked wind will have ceased and my cough will have stopped rattling my innards we will return to our regularly scheduled programming, same time next week…

 

 

One thought on “Spring Break

Leave a Reply

